TOP7.hr
Hrvatski English Deutsch

Categories

Technology Health Finance Lifestyle Travel Gastronomy Education Sport
Facebook Instagram

Information

About us Contact Impressum Privacy policy Terms of use Affiliate disclosure RSS Feed
Best Light Therapy Lamps 2026
Zdravlje

Best Light Therapy Lamps 2026

The best light therapy lamps 2026: seven models from 15.99 to 263.28 EUR, why distance matters more than lux and what the studies actually show.

Ana Horvat
Ana Horvat
Ažurirano

Light therapy lamps are sold with 10,000 lux printed on the box, and that number means nothing on its own until you know the distance it applies at. Light intensity falls with the square of distance, so a lamp giving 10,000 lux at 24 centimetres gives a quarter of that at 48. Most manufacturers simply do not state the distance. We compared seven models available on Amazon.de, with prices verified in August 2026, from 15.99 to 263.28 euros, and explained what the evidence actually shows.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Quick overview

# Model Intensity Medical device Price
1 Beurer TL 95 up to 14,000 lx Yes, class IIa 172.23 €
2 Innosol Rondo 400 10,000 lx at 24 cm CE 0434 263.28 €
3 Beurer TL 50 10,000 lx at 13 cm Yes 72.47 €
4 Beurer TL 30 up to 10,000 lx Yes 39.98 €
5 Philips Wake-up Light up to 300 lx No, an alarm clock 104.99 €
6 CSL 10000 Lux 10,000 lx claimed No 39.85 €
7 VTHW 10000 Lux 10,000 lx claimed No 15.99 €

Before you buy: what the evidence actually says

Light therapy lamps are a health product, so this part comes first rather than last.

For treating an active episode the evidence is moderate. A meta-analysis of 19 randomised trials covering 610 patients, published in Psychotherapy and Psychosomatics in 2020, found light therapy better than placebo with an effect size of SMD -0.37. The authors themselves note a moderate to high risk of bias in the included studies.

For prevention the evidence is very weak. The 2019 Cochrane review of light therapy as a preventive measure in people with a history of seasonal depression found only one study meeting the criteria, covering 46 people. The evidence was rated very low quality and the result was not statistically significant. The distinction between prevention and treatment matters here and is easily blurred: using light before symptoms appear is not the same as treating an episode already under way.

The UK's NHS does not routinely fund light therapy, stating there is not enough evidence that it works, although many patients report subjective improvement.

None of this means light therapy lamps do not work, only that they should be bought with realistic expectations. Seasonal depression is a genuine diagnosis, but a lamp is help rather than a cure. For a winter dip in energy it is worth trying. With a diagnosed depression a lamp is no substitute for treatment.

Advertisement
Advertisement

1. Beurer TL 95

Beurer TL 95 light therapy lamp

Photo: Beurer, Amazon

Check on Amazon

This model does what almost nobody in the category does: its manual publishes a table of how long to use the lamp at which distance. Thirty minutes at ten centimetres, an hour at twenty-five, two hours at forty. That is the figure telling you whether you have time for therapy in the morning or not.

It is declared a class IIa medical device, the regulatory category for active phototherapy devices in the EU, and that appears in the instructions for use rather than only in the advert. The 37 x 30 centimetre surface is the largest among the rectangular models here, so you do not have to aim your head precisely into a narrow beam. Six-step dimming allows gradual adaptation, useful if strong light bothers you in the morning.

Specification Detail
Intensity Up to 14,000 lux, dimmable in 6 steps
Illuminated surface 37 x 30 cm
Classification Class IIa medical device
Manufacturer guidance 30 min at 10 cm, 1 h at 25 cm, 2 h at 40 cm
UV filter No UV emission, no flicker

Pros: the manufacturer publishes a duration-per-distance table, which most competitors do not, the 37 x 30 cm surface covers the whole face so precise positioning is not required, class IIa plus six-step dimming allow gradual adaptation

Cons: the most expensive desk lamp in the comparison, no remote control so everything is adjusted on the unit

Our opinion: If the winter energy dip genuinely bothers you and you intend to use the lamp every morning for four months, this is the device that takes it. The duration-per-distance table is worth more than it sounds, because it tells you immediately whether thirty minutes is enough or you need two hours.


2. Innosol Rondo 400

Innosol Rondo 400 light therapy lamp

Photo: Innosol, Amazon

Check on Amazon

This is the only manufacturer here publishing three intensity and distance pairs: 10,000 lux at 24 centimetres, 5,000 at 36 and 2,500 at 48, with recommended durations of thirty, sixty and one hundred and twenty minutes. That table is simultaneously the best argument for this lamp and the best proof of the trap covered below. Double the distance gives a quarter of the intensity, and the manufacturer says so itself.

The round panel of 40 centimetres in diameter is the largest surface in the comparison, so during half an hour of sitting you can shift without leaving the light. The marking is CE 0434, that is with a notified body number rather than a bare self-declaration. Price is the drawback, as is the small number of reviews compared with the mass-market Beurer and Philips models.

Specification Detail
Intensity and distance 10,000 lx at 24 cm, 5,000 lx at 36 cm, 2,500 lx at 48 cm
Recommended duration 30, 60 and 120 minutes for those three levels
Illuminated surface Round, 40 cm diameter
Marking CE 0434, notified body
Power and weight 22 W, 2.5 kg

Pros: the only manufacturer publishing three combinations of intensity, distance and duration, the 40 cm diameter allows shifting during therapy, a CE marking with a notified body number rather than bare self-declaration

Cons: the most expensive in the comparison, very few reviews compared with Beurer and Philips

Our opinion: You are buying transparency. When a manufacturer writes that at 48 centimetres you get 2,500 lux instead of 10,000, you know where you stand and can decide where to sit. With lamps that keep that figure quiet, you will never find out.


Advertisement
Advertisement

3. Beurer TL 50

Beurer TL 50 light therapy lamp

Photo: Beurer, Amazon

Check on Amazon

Among light therapy lamps this is a certified medical device for a little over seventy euros, with 2,930 reviews averaging 4.4 out of 5. Nobody else in this category has that many ratings, and it is useful information for a device you will use daily through winter.

The claimed 10,000 lux applies at around thirteen centimetres, closer than with the pricier models. The round panel of 24.6 centimetres in diameter fits on a bedside table or beside a laptop. There is no dimming, so a single intensity level and no gradual adaptation if full brightness bothers you in the morning.

Specification Detail
Intensity Up to 10,000 lux at around 13 cm
Illuminated surface Round panel, 24.6 cm diameter
Classification Certified medical device
Dimming No, single level
Reviews 2,930 ratings, average 4.4 out of 5

Pros: a medical device from an established manufacturer under 75 euros, 2,930 reviews is by far the most in the category, the 24.6 cm round panel fits on a bedside table

Cons: a single intensity level with no gradual adaptation, the smaller surface makes positioning at 13 cm more important than with larger models

Our opinion: For most people buying their first lamp this is the sensible choice. You get medical certification and the most user experience in the category, and the only real sacrifice is having to sit closer than with the pricier models.


4. Beurer TL 30

Beurer TL 30 compact light therapy lamp

Photo: Beurer, Amazon

Check on Amazon

Of all the light therapy lamps here this is the only medical device under forty euros, and it resolves a dilemma you otherwise face: cheaper lamps are usually not certified, and certified ones are usually not cheap.

The format is compact, with a stand for a desk, so it fits in a bag and on an office desk. The claimed 10,000 lux and the UV-free design are the same as on the pricier Beurer models. The compromise is in the features: no dimming and no timer, and the smaller surface calls for closer and more precise positioning than the TL 95.

Specification Detail
Intensity Up to 10,000 lux
Classification Medical device
Format Compact, with a desk stand
UV filter No UV emission
Features No dimming and no timer

Pros: the only medical device under forty euros in the comparison, the compact format fits in a bag and on an office desk, the same UV-free declaration as the pricier Beurer models

Cons: the smaller surface calls for closer and more precise positioning, no dimming and no timer

Our opinion: If you are unsure whether you will keep up the therapy at all, start here. Forty euros for a certified device is a small price for an answer to whether it suits you, and if it does, the lamp remains perfectly usable.


Advertisement
Advertisement

5. Philips Wake-up Light

Philips Wake-up Light dawn simulator

Photo: Philips, Amazon

Check on Amazon

This device is in the comparison because people buy it instead of light therapy lamps, thinking it does the same job. A dawn simulator reaches around 300 lux, roughly thirty-three times less than the 10,000 used by real therapy lamps. It is not a medical device but an alarm clock.

What it does do, it does well. The light rises gradually over thirty minutes before the alarm, so you wake out of darkness by degrees rather than all at once. In December, when you get up before sunrise, that is a tangible difference in how the day starts. It has twenty brightness levels, several wake sounds and an FM radio, and has been selling for years with thousands of reviews.

Specification Detail
Intensity Up to 300 lux, about 33 times less than a therapy lamp
Dawn simulation Gradual increase 30 minutes before the alarm
Classification Not a medical device, it is an alarm clock
Extras FM radio, wake sounds, night light

Pros: gradual waking by light softens getting up in December darkness, twenty brightness levels and several sounds for adjustment, a model that has sold for years with thousands of reviews

Cons: 300 lux is far below the 10,000 needed for therapy so this does not treat seasonal depression, more expensive than real therapy lamps such as the Beurer TL 50

Our opinion: Buy it if your problem is getting up in the dark rather than a lack of daylight during the day. Those are two different complaints and they need two different devices. If you think it will fix a winter energy dip, this is not the device for it.


6. CSL Tageslichtlampe 10000 Lux

CSL dimmable light therapy lamp

Photo: CSL, Amazon

Check on Amazon

For around forty euros you get dimming, which the Beurer TL 30 and TL 50 in the same bracket do not offer. If full brightness bothers you in the morning, being able to start lower and build up over a week has practical value.

The price of that is the absence of medical certification. It is not declared a medical device, and it does not state the distance at which the claimed 10,000 lux applies. That does not mean the lamp fails to work, only that you have no verifiable figure to compare it against the Beurer or the Innosol.

Specification Detail
Intensity 10,000 lux claimed
Dimming Yes, stepped
Classification Not declared a medical device
Technology LED, no UV emission
Note Does not state the distance for the claimed intensity

Pros: dimming at a price where the Beurer TL 30 and TL 50 do not offer it, an LED design with no UV emission, an alternative for those who do not want a Beurer

Cons: not declared a medical device unlike the Beurer models, does not state the distance at which the claimed 10,000 lux applies

Our opinion: A reasonable choice if dimming matters more to you than a certificate. For the same money the Beurer TL 30 gives a medical declaration without dimming, and this one the reverse. Pick whichever you need more.


Advertisement
Advertisement

7. VTHW Tageslichtlampe

VTHW budget light therapy lamp

Photo: VTHW, Amazon

Check on Amazon

Sixteen euros is the lowest price in the comparison, and for that money you get four timers, memory of the last setting, USB-C power and a folding stand. For travel and for testing the concept that is perfectly usable.

What you do not get needs saying plainly. The manufacturer does not state the distance at which it delivers the claimed 10,000 lux, and that is the single most important figure in the category. It is not a medical device and there is no independent verification of the specifications. You are buying a device that may deliver what it says, but you cannot check.

Specification Detail
Intensity 10,000 lux claimed, no distance given
Timers Four, from 15 to 60 minutes
Power USB-C, folding stand
Classification Not a medical device

Pros: under sixteen euros, the lowest price in the comparison, USB-C power and a folding stand are practical for travel, four timers and memory of the last setting

Cons: does not state the distance for the claimed 10,000 lux, which is the most important figure, not a medical device and no independent verification of specifications

Our opinion: At sixteen euros it is hard to go wrong as long as you know what you are buying. This is a trial, not a device to rely on through a whole winter. If you feel a difference after a month, move up to a certified model.


The lux trap: distance decides

This is the most important part of the article and the reason light therapy lamps are so hard to compare against each other. Distance from the lamp changes everything else.

Light intensity falls with the square of distance. Double the gap and you get a quarter of the intensity, not half. So the figure of 10,000 lux without a stated distance from the lamp means nothing.

The best proof comes from a manufacturer. Innosol publishes for the Rondo 400 that it gives 10,000 lux at 24 centimetres, 5,000 at 36 and 2,500 at 48. One lamp, three different numbers, depending only on where you sit.

The practical consequence: light therapy lamps claiming 10,000 lux at fifteen centimetres require you to sit literally against them. At forty centimetres, where a person naturally sits at a desk, you will get roughly ten percent of that figure. That is why a larger illuminated surface and a published distance table are worth more than a bigger claimed number.

When choosing light therapy lamps, look for two things: a stated distance beside each intensity, and the largest illuminated surface you can get. Lamps that keep the distance quiet keep it quiet for a reason.

How light therapy is done

The standard protocol for light therapy lamps is 10,000 lux for around thirty minutes in the morning. Exposure duration and morning use matter as much as the intensity itself. First improvement usually appears within one to two weeks, with full response in four to six weeks.

Light therapy lamps are not looked at directly. They are placed to the side, within the field of view, so the light reaches the eyes at an angle while you do something else, read or have breakfast. Timing matters: therapy is done in the morning, because the goal is to shift the circadian rhythm earlier and suppress melatonin at the right time of day. Evening use can have the opposite effect and make falling asleep harder. The tilt angle should bring light down towards the eyes rather than straight into the pupil.

For comparison, household lighting gives around 150 to 500 lux, an overcast day around 1,000 to 2,000, and full daylight without direct sun 10,000 to 25,000. Ordinary room lighting, however bright, does not reach therapeutic levels and is not built to.

Who light therapy is not for

Retinal disease and photosensitising medication. With existing retinal disease, systemic diseases affecting the retina, and while taking photosensitising drugs, an ophthalmological examination is recommended before starting.

Bipolar disorder. A 2020 meta-analysis found no statistically significant increase in switching to mania, but clinical guidelines still call for a mood stabiliser and monitoring, particularly in bipolar I disorder. Therapy is not started on your own in that case.

UV emission. All lamps in this comparison are declared UV-free, since LED technology emits a negligible amount. Older fluorescent designs needed a filter. A lamp without a clear UV declaration is simply best skipped.

Rarer and usually transient side effects of a light therapy lamp include headache, eye strain and restlessness. If they appear, shorten the session or increase the distance. With a diagnosed depression, discuss the lamp with a doctor, since it is not a substitute for treatment. When the winter dip comes with worse sleep, we also compared gadgets for better sleep.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Conclusion

If you want Take Price
Best overall Beurer TL 95 172.23 €
Most transparency Innosol Rondo 400 263.28 €
Best value Beurer TL 50 72.47 €
Certification under 40 euros Beurer TL 30 39.98 €
Easier waking in the dark Philips Wake-up Light 104.99 €
Dimming on a small budget CSL 10000 Lux 39.85 €
Cheapest for a trial VTHW 10000 Lux 15.99 €

Of all the light therapy lamps in this comparison, for most people the answer is the Beurer TL 50. Medical certification, the most user experience in the category and a price under seventy-five euros cover what is needed, and the only compromise is sitting closer.

If you are unsure whether you will keep it up, among light therapy lamps the Beurer TL 30 at forty euros gives the same certification in a smaller package. Better to spend forty and get an answer than a hundred and seventy and leave the device in a cupboard.

The best light therapy lamps of 2026 differ less in claimed intensity than in whether they publish the distance that intensity applies at. Beyond that, the evidence is moderate for treating an active episode and weak for prevention, so expect relief from a lamp rather than a solution. If the winter dip comes with poor sleep, we also compared weighted blankets and stress relief products.

Frequently asked questions

How many lux should a light therapy lamp have?

The standard protocol is 10,000 lux for around thirty minutes in the morning, but what decides it is the distance at which the lamp delivers that. Innosol declares 10,000 lux at 24 centimetres and only 2,500 at 48, because intensity falls with the square of distance.

Does light therapy help with seasonal depression?

For treating an active episode the evidence is moderate: a meta-analysis of 19 trials on 610 patients found an effect above placebo. For prevention the evidence is very weak, since the 2019 Cochrane review found only one small study and the result was not statistically significant.

When and for how long should the lamp be used?

In the morning, usually thirty minutes at the declared distance. First improvement appears within one to two weeks, full response in four to six weeks. The lamp is not looked at directly but placed to the side, within the field of view.

Who should not use light therapy?

Caution is needed with retinal disease and with medication that increases light sensitivity, where an ophthalmological examination is recommended before starting. With bipolar disorder, guidelines call for a mood stabiliser and monitoring.

Is a dawn simulator the same as a light therapy lamp?

No. A dawn simulator reaches around 300 lux, roughly thirty-three times less than the 10,000 used by therapy lamps. It helps with waking in the dark but does not treat seasonal depression.

How we tested and chose

We started from the evidence base rather than from the light therapy lamps themselves. We went through the Cochrane review on preventing seasonal affective disorder, the meta-analysis of 19 randomised trials on treatment, the ISBD Chronobiology Task Force guidelines and the recommendations of the NHS and the American NIMH.

Light therapy lamps were judged first on whether the manufacturer publishes a distance alongside the claimed intensity, because without it a lux figure is not comparable. Then on the size of the illuminated surface, classification as a medical device, dimming and light temperature in kelvin. Classification data was checked in the manufacturer's instructions rather than only in the advertising copy, which is how we established that the Beurer TL 95 carries class IIa.

All prices and availability were verified directly on Amazon.de in August 2026. Several models we initially considered were dropped because they were not purchasable at the time of checking. The lamps were chosen to cover seven different situations, from a certified device for daily winter use to a cheap trial, which is why the comparison holds both a 15.99 and a 263.28 euro lamp.

Sources and references

  1. Nussbaumer-Streit B et al. Light therapy for preventing seasonal affective disorder. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2019;3:CD011269
  2. Pjrek E et al. The Efficacy of Light Therapy in the Treatment of Seasonal Affective Disorder: A Meta-Analysis of Randomized Controlled Trials. Psychother Psychosom. 2020;89(1):17-24
  3. Lam RW et al. Light Therapy for Patients With Bipolar Depression: Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of RCTs. Can J Psychiatry. 2020;65(5):290-300
  4. Geoffroy PA et al. Light therapy for bipolar disorders, ISBD Chronobiology Task Force. Dialogues Clin Neurosci. 2025;27(1):249-264
  5. Schulte PFJ et al. A protocol for light therapy in bipolar disorder. Tijdschr Psychiatr. 2020;62(3):223-228
  6. Wirz-Justice A, Terman AM. Light Therapy: Why, What, for Whom, How, and When. Praxis. 2022;110(2):56-62
  7. NHS: Seasonal affective disorder (SAD), Treatment
  8. NIMH: Seasonal Affective Disorder
  9. Beurer TL 95, manufacturer instructions declaring class IIa medical device
  10. Innosol Rondo 400, manufacturer description with intensity and distance table
Advertisement
Advertisement
Reviewed by: Top7 Editorial
Ana Horvat
Ana Horvat
ana.horvat@top7.hr

Certified nutritionist and wellness advisor who writes about healthy living, nutrition and wellbeing. She believes small everyday choices make a big difference to your health.

Certified nutritionist Wellness advisor Health educator